DMW to handle assistance for OFWs

MANILA — The Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) on Wednesday said it would turn over the assistance for overseas Filipino workers in some countries to the Department of Migrant Workers (DMW) from July. 

The law that created the DMW tasked it with handling assistance cases involving OFWs, including legal or medical help, repatriation, and shipment of remains, except in countries with no resident Migrant Workers Offices, the DFA said. 

The agency said OFWs who need assistance in the following territories should reach out to the DMW starting July 1. 

  • Asia-Pacific: Australia, Brunei, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore
  • Middle East and Northern Africa: Bahrain, Israel, Jordan, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, United Arab Emirates
  • Europe: Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom
  • Americas: Canada, United States of America 

The DFA said it would continue to handle requests for assistance from OFWs in territories that were not listed above.

The agency added it would assist all other Filipinos worldwide who are not OFWs, including students, tourists, and dual and permanent residents



  • Share this post


Leave a Comment